Contact Newcomen

office@newcomen.comIn the first instance all enquiries should be directed to Administrator. Regional enquiries can be sent direct via the details listed below.

Newcomen Main Office

The Administrator:

Miss Sarah Jane Stagg
The Newcomen Society
The Science Museum
London SW7 2DD
Tel/Fax +44 (0)20 7371 4445
Email: office@newcomen.com

Editors: 

International Journal:   Dermot O’Dwyer: editor.journal@newcomen.com

Newcomen Links:           Deborah Jaffé: editor.links@newcomen.com

Book Reviews:                 book.reviews@newcomen.com

Membership:

Membership Secretary: Dan Hayton: membership@newcomen.com

 

London Meetings

Secretary : Julia Elton: office@newcomen.com

Regional Newcomen

Newcomen Midlands Hon Secretary: Jim Ranahan
midlands@newcomen.com
Newcomen North East
Hon Secretary: David Crockit
north.eastern@newcomen.com
Newcomen North West Hon Secretary: Robert Steeds
north.western@newcomen.com
Newcomen Western
Hon Secretary: Bryan Lawton
western@newcomen.com
Newcomen Southern
Acting Hon Secretary: Dr. Robert Otter
southern@newcomen.com
Newcomen Scotland
Acting Hon Secretary: TBC
scotland@newcomen.com

Newcomen S Yorkshire   Hon Secretary: Dr John Suter

meetings.syorks@newcomen.com

  • Forthcoming Events

    Apr
    24
    Tue
    2018
    6:00 pm Will McTaggart and Robert Steeds... @ MANCHESTER Central Reference Library
    Will McTaggart and Robert Steeds... @ MANCHESTER Central Reference Library
    Apr 24 @ 6:00 pm – 7:30 pm
    Films on industry in the North-West brought to you by the North-West Film Archive.
    6:30 pm How (not) to Make Money – Counte... @ PORTSMOUTH: Portland Bldg, Rm PO1-11
    How (not) to Make Money – Counte... @ PORTSMOUTH: Portland Bldg, Rm PO1-11
    Apr 24 @ 6:30 pm – 8:30 pm
    A lecture by Paul Chapman
    May
    9
    Wed
    2018
    5:45 pm The Dickinson Memorial Lecture: ... @ LONDON: The Dana Studio, Wellcome Wolfson Building,
    The Dickinson Memorial Lecture: ... @ LONDON: The Dana Studio, Wellcome Wolfson Building,
    May 9 @ 5:45 pm – 7:45 pm
    The Dickinson Memorial Lecture will be given by Mike Chrimes. the title of his lecture is Measuring greatness: engineering biography- scholarship, hagiography or a marketing tool? Mike Chrimes is a long-standing member of the Newcomen[...]
    May
    17
    Thu
    2018
    7:30 pm Frank Hornby and mechanical toys... @ BRISTOL, BAWA
    Frank Hornby and mechanical toys... @ BRISTOL, BAWA
    May 17 @ 7:30 pm – 9:30 pm
    A lecture by Deborah Jaffé. The entrepreneurial Frank Hornby was the inventor of Meccano, The Hornby Railway and Dinky Cars. This lecture looks at the origins of his designs, the manufacturing processes involved,  the images of[...]
    May
    21
    Mon
    2018
    all-day Visits to AMRC and AESSEAL, Roth... @ ROTHERHAM details to follow
    Visits to AMRC and AESSEAL, Roth... @ ROTHERHAM details to follow
    May 21 all-day
    The society has organised a visit to the Advanced Manufacturing Research Centre (AMRC) on the morning of Monday 21st May 2018, followed by an afternoon visit to AESSEAL.  On both these visits members will have[...]
  • Twitter Feed


  • Latest News